Resist: be modern (again)

Curated by Alice Maude-Roxby and Stefanie Seibold

Artists: Becky Beasley, Madeleine Bernstorff, Tessa Boffin, Ricarda Denzer, Andrea Geyer, Moira Hille, Alice Maude- Roxby, Nick Mauss, Ursula Mayer, Falke Pisano, Ingrid Pollard, Tanoa Sasraku-Ansah, Katie Schwab, Stefanie Seibold, Megan Francis Sullivan, S. Louisa Wei, Riet Wijnen, Gillian Wylde, and a contribution by curator Beatriz Herráez.

Resist: be modern (again) explores the practices of women artists, designers and writers of the 1920s and 30s through the work of contemporary artists. These pioneering women were important groundbreakers for their time with many of their ideas still resonating today. Their battles against social conventions and aesthetic dogmas paved the way for today’s understanding of an expanded field of art, as well as contemporary personal freedoms.

The artists, designers, writers, editors, film-makers and performers referenced within Resist: be modern (again) include: writer Virginia Woolf, textile designers Barron and Larcher, Enid Marx, photographer Berenice Abbott and writer and art critic Elizabeth McCausland, legendary club proprietor and jazz singer Ada ‘Bricktop’ Smith, filmmaker Esther Eng, artist, performer and poet Baroness Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven, and editors of the 1920s American literary journal The Little Review, Margaret Anderson and Jane Heap. All of whom were responsible for highly innovative art, design and publishing, much of which has been largely erased from the art historical canon.

Resist be modern (again) is supported by Arts Council England, Middlesex University, Mondriaan Fund, Federal Chancellery of Austria BKA

Back to top